I’ve been published by the Good Women Project!

Standard

This is one of the happiest days of my life. I’ve been following the Good Women Project for a year or so now…I’ve read every single post they’ve published since I found them. It’s a blog/website dedicated to helping women live the life they were created to live. It’s a place for community and advice and stories and healing.

I decided I’d go out on a limb and write an article for this month, especially because I’m doing the Great Writers Challenge from Jeff Goins (also, GWP’s theme for this month is “The Working Woman”, and I don’t foresee myself writing for the next two months, “Ask A Married Woman” and “Let’s Talk About Sex Again”…not exactly things I have experience with). The main themes of the challenge are to  put yourself out there, do something brave, and build a platform. This is my first effort to do all of those things.

I wrote about my journey as a self-proclaimed workaholic. Here is a short excerpt:

I work hard. I always have.

And so, it was fitting that I chose quite possibly the world’s most daunting major: Music Education. In four years time, I have to rack up 135 credit hours of 0 and 1 credit courses. Those, along with homework, hours of practice, concert band, marching band, pep band, trombone choir, and attending concerts and recitals made every day into a 14-hour day. But I liked it, because I liked being busy. I thought I was “seizing the day”, not missing any opportunity, because I had no leftover time. I was doing as much as I could with the time I had. That’s what I thought was important.

People sometimes asked me what my hobbies were, or what I liked doing. “Well…I like playing trombone. I like school,” is what I found myself saying. Yeah…probably the lamest answer ever. I didn’t have any hobbies. I was consumed by work.

Click here to keep reading.

This is the first time I’ve ever tried writing for someone/something/somewhere else, and I’m thrilled that I actually got published on my first try. I really can’t believe it. I’m so humbled and I can’t wait to see what else God has in store for me with this passion for writing.

4 responses »

    • Thank you!! 😀 It was because of you that I did it…you’re the one who posted about the Great Writers Series, and that’s what fueled me to submit to them!

  1. I saw your post on Good Women Project, and clicked over to your blog. I love it!
    I knew from the moment I saw “Like An Introvert” as your heading that I needed to click Follow. Congratulations on being published! I love when God honours when we trust Him and His faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

