Forgiveness is Beautiful.

Standard

I have understood that forgiveness is important ever since I was little…really, since before I can remember.

But I don’t think I’ve understood the importance of forgiveness until quite recently.

You see, it’s so easy to speak forgiveness yet still hang onto all of your feelings and pride. Surely feelings aren’t prideful, but when you mentally hang them over someone else’s head every time they begin to annoy you…well, I think you know where I’m going with this.

And sometimes, even when you go into a situation determined to forgive someone, you still are unable to do it right away. That’s the tricky thing–you never really know what’s coming when someone says “We need to talk.”

But when all of your tears have been cried, and you’ve asked for healing, you don’t have to be hurt again.

All of a sudden, God showed me a beautiful peace. And the only message throughout my heart was, “I have already forgiven. And nothing lurking in either of your pasts can ever, ever take away from the great and beautiful things I want to give you.”

I think that’s what he meant when he commanded us to forgive our brothers “Seventy times seven”.

Leave a Reply

